USSTRATCOM Commander Announces 2018 Omaha Trophy Winners

  • Published
  • By Public Affair
  • U.S. Strategic Command

In recognition of outstanding support to U.S. Strategic Command’s (USSTRATCOM) strategic deterrence mission, U.S. Air Force Gen. John Hyten, commander of USSTRATCOM, announced the winners of the 2018 Omaha Trophies June 3, 2019.

“The Omaha Trophy represents the best of the best in units executing strategic deterrence,” said Hyten. “This year’s winners distinguished themselves through tireless effort, hard work and meticulous attention to detail. Of USSTRATCOM’s 162,000 warfighters critical to the security of our nation; this year you are first among equals.”

The 2018 Omaha Trophy recipient organizations are:

- Intercontinental Ballistic Missile: 341st Missile Wing, Malmstrom Air Force Base, Montana
- Ballistic Missile Submarine: USS Nevada (SSBN-733), Naval Submarine Base Bangor,
- Strategic Bomber: 509th Bomb Wing and 131st Bomb Wing, Whiteman Air Force Base, Missouri 
- Strategic Aircraft: 117th Air Refueling Wing, Sumpter Smith Air National Guard Base, Alabama
- Global Operations: 21st Space Wing, Peterson Air Force Base, Colorado

“Our forces and the strategic deterrence they provide, underpin and enable all joint force operations and are the ultimate guarantors of national and allied security,” Hyten said. “Whether you work under the ground, under the sea, or in the air, each nominated unit deserves recognition. It’s because of you we are the most powerful command on the planet. Thank you for the important work you do each and every day.”

The Omaha Trophy, which dates back to the U.S. Air Force’s Strategic Air Command, was originally created by the Strategic Air Command Consultation Committee in 1971. At the time, a single trophy was presented annually as a token of appreciation to the command’s best wing. The SCC – an advisory group comprised of business leaders in the Omaha area – became the Strategic Command Consultation Committee (SCC) after the activation of USSTRATCOM in 1992.

Since then, the tradition has evolved to five awards to recognize USSTRATCOM’s premier intercontinental ballistic missile (ICBM) wing, ballistic missile submarine, strategic bomber wing, global operations (space/cyberspace) unit and strategic aircraft wing.

“Each year the Strategic Command Consultation Committee looks forward to recognizing the excellence demonstrated by USSTRATCOM’s finest strategic units,” said Ken Stinson, chairman of the SCC. “On behalf of the committee, and the greater Omaha community, congratulations and thank you to you and your families for all that you do for our great nation. We salute you.”